A Layover in Copenhagen

2015-07-01 08.42.00
Rådhushaven: Garden at Copenhagen’s City Hall
TBD
Statue of HC Andersen at Copenhagen’s City Hall Square

My trip to Lisbon, Portugal was supposed to be my last stop in Western Europe. I put off purchasing a return ticket to the US only to find that direct flights from Lisbon to JFK are hard to come by! My best option was to fly backwards and take a 22 hour layover in Copenhagen, Denmark before moving onward to NYC. It was a chance to squeeze in a little more sightseeing and I was happy to take it.

Hastily trying to plan the few hours I’d have around Copenhagen I went ahead and booked a walking tour with good ratings. While I did enjoy my time on the tour I realized that Copenhagen is one of the many cities that offers free walking tours. In retrospect, I certainly would have taken a free walking tour instead.

Originally meant to distinguish rainy weather from clear weather, this structure is now permanently stuck between the two, which many see as the most accurate description of Copenhagen’s daily weather.
Originally meant to distinguish rainy weather from clear weather, this structure is now permanently stuck between the two, which many see as the most accurate description of Copenhagen’s daily weather.
2015-07-01 09.10.49
Copenhagen’s Tivoli Amusement Park

I have very fond memories of the family that hosted me in Denmark via Airbnb. The mother and father were superior hosts and helped me feel comfortable in my short time at their home. They even provided me with breakfast and coffee in the morning. Their adorable little son had the blondest hair I’d ever seen and wasn’t at all phased when he woke up to a new Airbnb stranger in the home. His biggest concern was getting his own share of breakfast.

How awesome is this rooftop!? I spotted it in Copenhagen’s city center.
How awesome is this rooftop!? I spotted it in Copenhagen’s city center.
Love locks and a row of Copenhagen homes.
Love locks and a row of Copenhagen homes.
Copenhagen’s guard change. Underwhelming if compared to England’s, but an experience nonetheless.
Copenhagen’s guard change. Underwhelming if compared to England’s, but an experience nonetheless.
Copenhagen’s famous Little Mermaid statue.
Copenhagen’s famous Little Mermaid statue.

I’d gladly take another chance to return to Denmark and spend more time. I couldn’t pronounce any of the street names for the life of me, but the city and suburbs I got to see were beautiful and I had pleasant experiences interacting with locals.

Share your thoughts and/or questions.

